Skip to content

My Ironing Board has a New Friend!

August 24, 2007

For the past two months, my ironing board has sat all alone in my living room.couch-002.jpg

No couch.

No television or television stand.

No bookshelf.

Not even a coffee table.

Just my ironing board, with its little iron buddy.

We had found my dream couch at Macy’s at the end of June. My mother, younger brother and I combed through furniture stores on Route 4 and stumbled upon this little ruby gem of a couch hidden away on the second floor of the Macy’s Furniture department store.

It was love at first sight.

Bright red.

Comfortable.

Long enough to be used as a bed for the occasional guest bed.

Unfortunately, we discovered that the couch was out of stock and wouldn’t be in the warehouse until July 27. Tragic, isn’t it? Although we had seen another chocolate brown couch that would have been suitable, I had my heart set on this discovery. My mother purchased it (her housewarming gift to me) and the interim of waiting began.

And so I waited.

And waited.

And waited.

Finally, on August 11, after not hearing a peep from Macy’s, I went into the store to talk to the clerk. The woman at the front desk told me that my couch was scheduled to be delivered on Tuesday, August 14.

Excuse me?

Scheduled? Without asking me?

I told her that date wasn’t acceptable, as I worked, so I had it moved to August 18. I realized later that August 18 wouldn’t work either as I was expected in the city that day. So I waited until the night before, when the Macy’s employee said they would call, to cancel the delivery and reschedule.

But they didn’t call.

Instead, they called on Saturday (and left a message, because I was in the city) and left a message saying my couch was available for delivery and I should schedule a time to have it delivered!

Okay. Fine.

Heidi, the original saleswoman from back in June, called me to schedule a time. Saturday, unfortunately, not available – because every other person in New Jersey who works wants their furniture then too. So I scheduled it for Friday, hoping that I could either work from home in the morning or afternoon.

Finally, Friday arrives (that would be today). I’m eagerly anticipating the arrival of my new sofa. I see the white delivery truck pull up and I open the door for the two Latino men to come inside.

They push and shove that couch through the door and after not one, not two, but three attempts, they were finally able to squeeze my apparently obese couch through the front door of the complex and my apartment’s front door and into my living room.

It’s beautiful! I finally have a comfortable resting spot to watch the season premiere of Heroes (only one more month!) and my ironing board has some company while I’m away at work.

Don’t they look cute together?

couch-003.jpg

 My new couch, solo version:

couch-001.jpg

 

 (Ed. Note: The fabulous Friday Five will return next week!)

14 Comments
  1. August 24, 2007 9:19 PM

    All I have to say is…never in my adult life have I resided with an ironing board.

    Believe it or not. (I have an iron, but no ironing board.)

  2. Sara permalink
    August 24, 2007 9:50 PM

    My ironing board is one of those table top ones. Shorter board and practically no legs. Since I currently am shopping for a table due to my recent move, mine currently resides on the floor of my bedroom.
    Props for the real ironing board!

  3. Allison permalink*
    August 24, 2007 11:32 PM

    Yeah, but what about my COUCH?? Who cares about the freaking ironing board!

    The ironing board was actually one of the first things I bought when I moved into my apartment. My mother was a bit of a fanatical ironer, so I’ve been taught to always iron everything before you wear it, especially when going somewhere important – like work. So there you go.

  4. Wendy permalink
    August 25, 2007 12:51 AM

    Allison,
    The couch is very nice. I am happy for the Ironing board and the couch.
    Wendy

  5. August 25, 2007 12:58 AM

    What a fantastic ironing board! I mean, really, who could ask for a more perfect pair of ironing things to remove wrinkles and such?

    Oh yeah, the couch is nice too. :-p

    On a more serious note, moving couches SUCK, and for the record, me and my pickup truck are officially busy on the weekend that you move out…

    Those poor furniture movers. Whoever chooses to do that for a living is a very special person.

    It really is a fantastic looking couch.

  6. August 25, 2007 9:24 AM

    I love the couch.

    But out of pure curiosity….no TV for 2 months? What’ve you been doing, just reading? Playing solitaire? I’m curious to know what people do without TV, LOL.

  7. Allison permalink*
    August 25, 2007 11:00 AM

    Wendy: Thank you!

    Scott: Awww, no love for Allison and her poor obese couch?

    Shannon: I also just got internet on August 11, so I was in my apartment for more than a month without it. Amazing, no? It actually wasn’t that hard. I spent a lot of evenings shopping, unpacking, eating out, going to the gym and, amazingly enough, reading… I spent most weekends either in the city or just out exploring where I lived. Or doing more shopping. Then there were a lot of nights where I was so tired, I would literally pass out on my bed at 7:30. So it really wasn’t as hard as I thought!

  8. August 25, 2007 10:35 PM

    I like your couch. A lot. But your walls, man – you should hang up some pictures before the couch and ironing board die from lack of stimulation. One day you’ll come home and they’ll both be little dried up husks on the floor, one a faded red, one a little pile of metal and a scrap of blue. Won’t someone please think of the furniture? *sob*

    *ahem* Me? I’m fine. Juuuuuuust fine. What? Don’t give me that look. I am NOT crazy.

  9. August 26, 2007 8:34 AM

    I like the couch!🙂

  10. Allison permalink*
    August 26, 2007 12:12 PM

    Julia: I’ve been waiting for the couch to come! I wanted to make sure the pictures went well with the couch. And before Friday, I never had much of a reason to stay in my living room. Not that my bedroom has any pictures either… Hmm…

  11. August 27, 2007 1:12 PM

    I love red couches! My mom has a beautiful one that I’ve coveted for years🙂

  12. Sunshine permalink
    April 3, 2009 10:27 AM

    your ironing board is exactly the same as mine. I’ve never been able to fold the darn thing down for storage though…. any chance you could show me how to do it? :]

  13. April 30, 2009 4:17 PM

    There’s usually a pull down on the bottom. You pull it toward the floor, and it will usually slide down. If it doesn’t work, try some WD-40. That will usually do the trick.

    I’m guessing it’s an old one? The new ones are much easier to handle.

Trackbacks

  1. The Last Night. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.