Skip to content

Blessed.

August 23, 2007

weekend-006.jpgI was in Washington Square Park last weekend with my friend Tara (some of you may know her from Diabetes Self-Management), her boyfriend and a few of her friends, and my cousin.

I was sitting on the grass, sipping a Mango bubble tea, laughing at embarassing stories and watching all the New Yorkers (and tourists) mingle about in the park.

Jazz music played in the background, juxtaposed by a conservative Christian choir.

The fountain was in full bloom.

And I thought to myself how incredibly lucky I am to have the life that I do.

It’s not very often, I think, that we really stop to reflect on everything we have and everything we’ve experienced and everything we hopefully get to experience.

The past two months have been challenging – emotionally, physically, financially.

From finding a car in three days to starting a new job while living in a hotel to moving three thousand miles and having to practically start over again, I slowly realized that I have what I really need.

There are people all over the country who support me and encourage me. Complete strangers who out of the blue email me to tell me I’m a worthwhile person.

I have a new family that loves me even though they barely know me, including an older cousin whom I fully intend to adopt and torture like the older brother I never had. He’s an only child and I have almost twenty years of sibling experience.

I have a cool job with even cooler people – and I’m not just saying that because they read this. I laugh everyday and it feels so good, especially when I have to go home to an empty apartment.

I live next to a city that has more opportunities than I could ever dream of taking advantage of, and enough material to satisfy my burgeoning obsession with photography for years.

summersky.jpgIt’s beautiful when you feel like you’re a part of something just by being.

My dad said to me the other night, “Looks like you’re living the life you always wanted.”

“Almost,” I replied.

I never want to feel like I’m finished. I always want there to be something next.

I never want to lose my momentum.

Or my faith that I’ll always be exactly where I need to be, with the people who need and want me.

4 Comments
  1. August 23, 2007 5:34 PM

    As an “Army Brat” who moved many, many times, my parents always told us that “Life is what we make it.” Their attitude about our moves, new friends, new house, new school always made the moves successful.

    Sounds like YOUR attitude is making YOUR life very nice.

    Congratulations!

    Colleen

  2. August 23, 2007 7:04 PM

    Blessed you are!

  3. August 23, 2007 8:11 PM

    I love those moments when we recognize our blessings. It is not often enough but when it does, it is a wonderful place to be!

    I love your, “not done yet” spirit too! that is also a great place to be!

    Congrats!

Trackbacks

  1. HBCE Blog Gallery: Lemonade Life » Healthcare Blogger Code of Ethics

Comments are closed.