Skip to content

Beantown Bound

August 20, 2007

For someone who grew up on the other side of the country, I’ve managed to see quite a bit of the East Coast. In628290back-bay-skyline-at-sunset-boston-ma-posters.jpg fact, I’ve been to almost every state from Connecticut all the way down to Florida (with the noted exception of Delaware, and I still question whether or not our hotel was in Maryland or D.C.)

I still have not managed to really break into much of New England but I’m seizing the opportunity over Labor Day, which is my first three-day weekend since starting work (and my only vacation time until Thanksgiving). I’ll be in full road-tripping force as I drive from little town in Jersey through New York, into Connecticut (::waves to Kerri::) and up 1-95 into Rhode Island for a day before arriving in Boston in the evening on Saturday, September 1. I’ll be in Beantown until late Monday afternoon before I make my way back home.

This will also be my very first venture into “Pump It Your Damn Self” land. I’m kinda nervous.Yes, I’m 22 and I have never pumped my own gas. Please do not die of shock. I just happen to have only lived in the only two states in the country that have people pump your gas for you. Why do you think I moved to Jersey in the first place? Kidding… Kind of.

I’m très excited to go and I’m looking for suggestions on what to do while I’m there. I’m staying at a youth hostel in the Back Bay area – no idea where that is or what it means, but apparently it’s a good location, so there you go. Any suggestions for what I should see, do, eat?

Better yet, does anyone want to go with me? (This is, by the way, a perfect example of what I explained last week.) Please email or leave a comment if you’re in the general vicinity. Even if you can’t make it to Boston, I might be able to make it to you. Maybe. If you ask nicely. And are not a psychopathic stalker.

In other news: I’m becoming quite the Broadway aficionado these days. I attended Curtains, my second Broadway show this summer, last Wednesday with my friend Yuliya, an old college housemate, and her boyfriend. Curtains has brought my Broadway count up to five shows, with four of them actually being on Broadway (the fifth was The Lion King on tour in Portland). I cannot say enough about this show. David Hyde Pierce is hysterical – actually, the entire cast is amazing – and the musical numbers were unbelievable. The show was a perfect mix of sharp, snarky banter and make-your-heart-sigh ballads.

This Friday, I’m off to yet another play. This time I’m seeing The Year of Magical Thinking, starring Vanessa Redgrave. I don’t know much about the play other than what is on the website, but it’s Vanessa Redgrave. Not only do I get the tickets at discount through work, but this is also the last weekend the show is playing and I would regret it if I didn’t go.

And on top of that, I get my brand new red couch this weekend!

Which I think I’m looking forward to more than anything.

9 Comments
  1. August 20, 2007 8:56 PM

    I read “The Year Of Magical Thinking”. It was incredible. Joan Didion happens to be my favorite author.

    I can only imagine the play will be incredible too.

  2. August 20, 2007 8:58 PM

    Can I tell you how jealous I am? I’ve read Joan Didion’s book and really liked it, though I was challenged/disturbed by it. The thought of seeing Vanessa Redgrave in the piece is more than I can stand!

    I hope it’s just excellent. Maybe we can connect while you’re in Beantown. Good luck with driving while you’re there. It took me about five years to get used to Boston driving (not kidding). Plus there’s a complete lack of adequate signage for the roads.

  3. August 20, 2007 10:56 PM

    Bernard’s not being too positive🙂 I think if you can drive in NYC, you can drive in Boston. I’ve never driven in NYC but it seems more intimidating than Boston is🙂 I do recommend printing out directions with a map. Also, I might be able to swing a dinner or lunch meal when you’re in town (Prov or Boston). Perhaps there’s a small group of people in the area?

  4. Allison permalink*
    August 21, 2007 12:45 AM

    I think if you can drive in Jersey, you can drive just about anywhere! We have the worst signage, the worst roads and the worst drivers! NYC is a piece of cake, actually, compared to most of Jersey. Honestly, driving in NYC isn’t difficult, it’s just that there is a lot of people and traffic is usually pretty bad. But it’s not hard to understand. I’ll definitely be printing out a map to get to the hostel, and the rest of the time I’m hoping to stick to my feet!

  5. Wendy permalink
    August 21, 2007 1:32 AM

    I have to defend NJ here. It is not the signage that stinks it is just the roads are so crowded. I would NEVER drive in NYC. Well have driven out to Long Island. One of those roads actually has a sign you can’t see until you miss the exit for the throgs neck bridge. Some of the roads in NJ really do stink for signs though. The 440/287 connection is probably the hardest road to figure out.
    Wendy

  6. August 21, 2007 1:45 AM

    Driving in Boston is easy. All you have to remember is that you always have the right of way and that directionals are optional.

    It’s also a very walkable city, which is nice. I know my way around by foot much better than by car. You can also get a Charlie Card day pass for the T. It’s $9 per day.

    If there is a meet-up, let me know. I’m about 2 hours west of Boston, but I’d love to get together with some fellow Massholes and a displaced Oregonian.

  7. Allison permalink*
    August 21, 2007 1:48 AM

    Wendy: I can’t count the times I have almost missed a turn because the sign is covered up by some stupid branch. I suppose it’s not necessarily that there isn’t signage, it’s just you can’t see that it’s there! The roads are equally crowded in NYC – and there all those one way streets – but at least it’s built on a grid so you always have some idea of where you are.

    Julia: Will definitely let you know. At least it’s over Labor Day so we don’t have work/school to worry about!

  8. August 21, 2007 8:25 PM

    There’s not a lot to see in Delaware. Well, I’m here, and I’ve heard the beaches are excellent though I haven’t been to them myself.

    TAKE A MAP to Boston. I’ve never been to a city where a one way street was then followed by more one way streets that are all going in the same direction, which is generally the direction away from where you want to go. Yikes.

  9. August 23, 2007 1:55 AM

    There’s a walking tour of the historic places in Boston-I forget the name of it at the moment but you basically follow this map/red lines on the side walk to different museums and historical locations. I did it with a few nurses from camp several summers ago and it was fun, even in the rain we had that day. Someplaces that I got to see because it was a Friday (like the capital) might be closed, but it’s worth looking into.

Comments are closed.