Skip to content

Double Deuce

August 6, 2007

birthday-cake2.jpgThank you to everyone who has sent me birthday wishes via e-mail, instant messenger, Facebook and even Twitter! Being sung to by Bernard on Twitter was definitely the highlight of my day so far. It’s made having to work on my twenty-second birthday so much more enjoyable!

I am heading to Manhattan tonight to have dinner with a good friend from high school who just happened to be in town this weekend. We to MOMA on Saturday and had dinner with a couple of her friends in the East Village.

Yesterday I made the trek down to the City of Brotherly Love, Philadelphia, though I really consider it the City of Sisterly Love, because one of my best friends, Deirdre, lives there. Deirdre and I actually met via the Internet way back when we were 12 years old (yes, I am young enough that I was 12 when I started using the Internet) and at age 13 we met in Washington D.C. with both of our families. I didn’t see Deirdre again six years later, so we managed to keep in touch exclusively via email and instant messenger all through high school. It’s probably why I’m so good at all this online community stuff. She is actually the first person who I ever met from the Internet, and it was the beginning of nothing but wonderful experiences! I know a lot of people give me quizzical looks when I tell them I meet people from the Internet, but I really have never had a bad experience. ::knock on wood::

A few days ago, I read this post on the blog No Pasa Nada, where the author, Heather, asked her readers “What were you like when you were 23 years old?” I thought that was such an excellent birthday question, so I would like to post that question to all of you, only altering it slightly to fit my age:

What were you like when you were 22 years old? What was your life like? And if you’re not 22 yet, what do you hope you are like?

Also, make sure you stop by Unbalancediabetic to wish Tom a happy birthday and Major Bedhead to wish Julia’s little baby, The Bug, a very happy first birthday!

Eight-Sixers rock!


8 Comments
  1. August 7, 2007 12:30 AM

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY ALLISON!

    I am so happy that this post is NOT about the movie Roadhouse! LOL

  2. August 7, 2007 1:19 AM

    Happy Birthday, Allison!
    When I was 22, I had been married for 5 years & had a 10-month-old daughter. She’s all grown up now & 1 year older than you are. Aaaaahhh! Time sure does fly. I took multiple daily injections & had a glucose meter that was the size of a brick & about as heavy! But I felt blessed to have it.
    My advice – Enjoy your life, have fun, & count your blessings.

  3. RichW permalink
    August 7, 2007 2:14 AM

    Happy Birthday Allison

    I turned 22 in 1970. I had been dating the girl I’m married to for almost one year and I was crazy in love. I’m still crazy in love with her. I was a college sophomore struggling with my thoughts about the Viet Nam war. I wasn’t so sure we were accomplishing the goal of stopping communism. In fact, I was suspicious that there was too much money being made by the war and it would be hard to stop. I was also very uncomfortable with the way the vets were being treated by the public. That mistreatment, and it was mistreatment, has resulted in a completely different attitude by the public today. Those of us who are old enough to remember either feel guilty or won’t tolerate it again. I’m in the “won’t tolerate” group. I graduated from high school in 1967. That summer has been called the “Summer of Love” (check out Scott McKenzie – San Francisco: Wear Some Flowers In Your Hair) and it didn’t end for me for many years. Watergate and Viet Nam was the end of “The Love.” At 22 I was still in the “Summer of Love,” I knew everything, I was the most confident I’ve ever been, my hair was long, and I could rip a mid sized city phone book in half. I thought I was the most handsome, intelligent, powerful man on the planet. The best part was that it would be 13 years before I would be a Type 1.

  4. August 7, 2007 4:03 AM

    Happy Birthday, Allison!! I hope it was a great day!

  5. Sarah permalink
    August 7, 2007 12:01 PM

    Happy B-day, Allison!
    Twenty-two was not that long ago for me, I had had type 1 for about six months and had graduated college a semester early. I started graduate school for sociology and learned that academia teaches you to have massive amounts of self-doubt and fear of failure. I was a TA for large sections of Intro. to Soc. and discovered that the typical freshman population at a Big Ten school does NOT consist of the best and brightest. I discovered that bars can be fun, but are mostly just smoky places filled with grumpy servers and drunk frat guys. And I got engaged and started planning a wedding for May 2006 (nearly two years in the future then) from out of state while said fiance was in a third, not-where-the-wedding-would-be state. Needless to say, twenty-two was a busy year for me. Hopefully yours will be exciting but low-stress, enlightening but fun, cozy but pushing you forward. All the best!

  6. Kelsey permalink
    August 8, 2007 9:04 PM

    Happy Birthday Allison!

    22 was a great year for me… I graduated from St. Mary’s College and moved to San Diego. I got my first apartment and lived on my own, met my husband (though we didn’t start dating until I was 23), and began the slow process of breaking up with my college boyfriend. It was such a year of transition, and probably the most important year of my life, as far as my long term happiness.

    Enjoy every minute of being 22… I can tell you already are!🙂

  7. August 9, 2007 12:58 AM

    When I turned 22, Holden was 4. I was a Senior in nursing school. My whole life revolved around Holden, school, and my job as a clerk at a grocery store.

    I’m smarter than I was then. I’m more compassionate than I was then. And, I’m fatter than I was then. I was actually a size 4 then. Ah, those were the days.

    Anyway, Happy (late) birthday!!

Trackbacks

  1. Stupid People, Amazing People and a Happy Belated Birthday « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.