Skip to content

End of the First

July 29, 2007

Just one week shy of my twenty-second birthday and I’m drinking a raspberry margarita at Chili’s waiting for my flight at O’Hare International Airport. It’s a very tasty margarita.

I’m on my way home from my first business trip and let me tell you, it’s been a real wing-dinger of a trip. I have so much more that I want to write about, but most of it is best accompanied with pictures, so I am going to have to wait until I arrive back in New Jersey to really tell you the full story of everything that happened yesterday afternoon and evening and this afternoon. It’s been quite exciting and full of many Firsts. 

One thing that was not a first is the fact that I can’t seem to manage my blood sugars while either traveling or while pre-menstrual or while sick, all of which happened since Thursday. I don’t think I have seen so many consecutive sky high blood sugars. A couple blood sugar readings were definitely due to an old set – as evidenced by red dot on my right hip. I’ve been back on the insulin pump too, and the basal rates are different than when I was on Lantus. I’m planning on going back on Lantus to finish up the bottle when I starting tomorrow, but then when it’s empty I plan to be a full-fledged pumper again.

Whether my blood sugar was high, low, or in the “middle,” the conference taught me a lot myself, my perceptions of how I am a blogger, a diabetic, a PR practioner and also how I am still very young, despite my best intentions.

4 Comments
  1. July 29, 2007 10:36 PM

    That’s quite the cliffhanger.

    I can’t wait to hear your assessment of BlogHer. I really want to go next year but I’ve heard conflicting opinions on it. Plus I’m not sure how I’d do with such hordes of women gushing and squealing.

  2. July 29, 2007 11:57 PM

    I am so jealous of your meeting EE. YOU KNOW how much I adore her.

    I always felt humbled on the business trips with the medical manufacturer. Like I didn’t belong on them. But they WERE fun.

  3. July 29, 2007 11:59 PM

    oh, and I hope you enjoyed “my” hometown.

Trackbacks

  1. The Year in Twelve Sentences. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.