Skip to content

Blogging for Life

July 25, 2007

I have been a member of the Internet community since I was 11 years old. I started with the good old days of AOL message boards, then began blogging at age 17 (first on Diaryland in April 2003, then on Livejournal in December 2003), followed by signing my life away to Facebook during my sophomore year in college (contrary to popular belief, Facebook is not new – it’s been around since 2004).

I became kind of “Internet famous” when I started doing the Teen Talk chats on Diabetes Station when I was 17, and became even more “Internet famous” when I started Lemonade Life in 2005.

Despite being a Generation Y kid, I am still surprised at how pervasive this whole “blogging” business has become. Blogging, for the most part, was a way for me to keep in contact with friends from high school, because it was the first time they did not have an easy access point to my life. Now, living on the other side of the country, it’s even more important, I think, to keep that portal into my life open for my friends and family who will now go months without seeing me. I’m slightly bemused at how something that was a hobby and procrastination tool for me in college (I can’t even count how many memes I filled out to avoid writing term papers) has become such an incredible business tactic that I’m now developing Powerpoint presentations explaining to the benefits of blogs, podcasts and Facebook to our clients.

In the 21st century, it’s becoming a business tool. A way for companies to keep in touch with not their family and friends, but with their customers, clients, and colleagues. Hearing feedback on new products and campaigns instead of hearing advice on whether to dump So-And-So or share opinions on the latest Harry Potter novel.

People blog because it’s their job.

Tomorrow, I’m flying to Chicago to attend the two day BlogHer ’07 conference (and meet the Miller family, though that’s another post). I’m very excited that my company (MWW Group) is flying me there because not only do I think it’s actually going to help me do a job I’m only beginning to realize I know very little about (isn’t that how it always is though?) and because I actually wanted to go even before I got this job.

I’m planning on attending the following sessions: Life Stages of Online Communities, The State of the Momosphere, and The Art of Foodblogging. These are sessions I’m attending because they affect work (though the Stages of Online Communities obviously has some crossover with the O.C.).

If you visit the BlogHer ’07 conference page and see a session you are interested about, please send me a note and I will see if it’s something that I can attend. Obviously I can’t go to each session, but I’m looking for opinions on other sessions that might be valuable for people that I can come back and blog about.

Finally, in case anyone was wondering just how much blogging has seeped into my life, here is an online quiz that shows you that I’m only 74% addicted to blogging.

addicted.jpg

So there’s still hope.

3 Comments
  1. Kassie permalink
    July 25, 2007 4:18 PM

    hey, I’d love to hear about life stages of an online community. I have a few theories about that myself😉 Have fun!

  2. July 25, 2007 5:10 PM

    Kids these days.

    I didn’t start using email until I was 17 and didn’t know what the “internet” was until I was 21 (while searching for a job after college). We were actually putting things like “Can perform research using the World Wide Web” on our resumes! I like to say that I went to college in the “dot-matrix” era, not the “dot-com” era.

    I already know it’s going to be hard keeping up…

    Have a great time at the conference, you Rock Star Lemonhead!

  3. July 25, 2007 6:02 PM

    Oh man! You’re going to BlogHer, too? I am so jealous. I’ve been wanting to go to that since last year’s conference. *sigh*

Comments are closed.