Skip to content

Month.

July 18, 2007

I have been here for a month.

Actually, I’ve been in New Jersey for one month and three days. I arrived on June 14th, so my one month anniversary of being a New Jerseyan was actually last Saturday. But today is my one month anniversary of starting my job, and I didn’t want to do two one-month anniversary posts in a week, so I’m just combining them today.

Life is starting to become more routinized, which I’m appreciating. I finally have furniture, although I’m sorely missing a couch. I have a nice bedroom and a dining room, but the largest room in my apartment only has some cardboard boxes that need to be recycled and an ironing board.

Lovely.

I also signed up for the gym, and it’s nice to finally build that back into my routine. It’s not far from my house so I don’t feel like I’m schlepping all over town. I even think I’ve worked out the perfect pre-gym snack: a bottle of Danactive and six Ritz crackers with peanut butter. Had no noticeable peaks or valleys last night, which thrilled me to bits. I also made a yummy Atlantic salmon fillet. I think I’m a fish convert.

ncbook.jpgThe job is keeping me busy – but not too busy. I’m working on some projects for a few of our clients, Gardenburger, VW and Sam Adams – though unfortunately everything is still under wraps, otherwise I would tell you what’s cooking. Hopefully the stuff will be announced soon! I also do a lot of research on the Internet about new business or potential new business. And of course, I spend a heck of a lot of time reading my RSS feeds on new media and technology. Sometimes I think I spend more time reading than actually producing anything! But I am learning a lot about marketing, which is something I think I should have taken classes in while I was in college. Right now I’m reading Naked Conversations, which is an excellent book about corporations and blogging. I’m pretty much learning about my job from a book.

I’m starting to wonder why I went college. I don’t even like beer.

Well, one month from today is my 22nd birthday party extravaganza! Okay, really it’s just lunch somewhere in Manhattan (haven’t decided yet) and then we’ll probably go to a museum or something. But it’ll be fun. And it’s with almost exclusively diabetics which I half think is hilarious and half think is the most depressing thing in the entire world.

Saturday, August 18.

Be there.

7 Comments
  1. Kassie permalink
    July 19, 2007 1:25 AM

    Most of my IRL friends have non-functioning islet cells, too. It’s a good thing, trust me😉

    Keep me posted on the museum of choice. I will actually be in NYC the 17th – 20th and would get a kick out of connecting with you!

  2. Wendy permalink
    July 19, 2007 3:57 AM

    Allison,
    Congratulation on being a Jerseyan for a whole month. I know it is a bit of an odd state. If you are near Jersey City and craving fresh fruit. I know there is a farmer’s market there. I can e-mail you the name of our farm.
    Wendy

  3. July 20, 2007 1:29 PM

    Hey Allison, congrats on your one month anniversary! I’d be interested if you have any great links for new technology you are reading. It’s really neat what’s going on and difficult to keep up with the latest. A really informal group of us get together monthly and share info. It would be great if you could get plugged in to something like this in your area. Our particular group centers around GeekSouth.com . Check us out!

  4. RichW permalink
    July 20, 2007 2:54 PM

    My wife and I almost moved to NJ ten years ago. I worked for a company in Hasbrouck Heights which is about 15 miles west of Manhattan. We looked for a house for about a month and then the company asked me to be a virtual employee. I’ve been working from home since. My wife was very happy not to move to NJ. I don’t know what it was but we just didn’t feel right. We’re from western Massachusetts and north eastern NJ just felt like another world. I would have acclimated to it but my wife would have had a lot more trouble. I’m happy to read that you’re enjoying NJ.

    We’ve enjoyed living in Connecticut, Rhode Island, and southwest Florida. In our travels, we’ve found many places that didn’t fit and many that did. I wish I knew what it is that feels good about a place because we’re looking again; this time in North and South Carolina. It takes a lot of traveling to find a place that feels comfortable. I need a web site that conveys whatever it is that we need to determine if an area is right. Okay, too much detail.

    I just wanted to say, “Where did you find all those diabetics.” I know one T1 and he lives in Ohio. I had polio as a child and walk with crutches. I’m the only one I know like that. Heart disease is easy. I’ve had bypass surgery and I know plenty of them. Got to start looking for more T1’s on crutches wearing a leg brace and an insulin pump with a long scar down their chest. What a support group that would be. Do you know any?

  5. Emma permalink
    July 21, 2007 2:11 PM

    Hey Allison,
    congratulations on both of your anniversaries!
    how DID you find all those diabetics? I only know one type one in person, and that’s my best friend’s sister. I better get searching!
    I love peanut butter, I rediscovered the smooth stuff at my friend’s yesterday ’cause at home I have sugar free and that only comes in crunchy. I like crackers, but what’s danactive? maybe you don’t get it in the UK.

  6. Allison permalink*
    July 21, 2007 5:36 PM

    Rich & Emma: I believe a post about my collection of diabetics is in order. Stay tuned.

    Emma: Danactive is made by Yoplait, they make yogurt. It’s a little bottle of yogurt that’s very thin like milk. It supposed to help with building your immune system, which is something that I need because I frequently get sick when I travel and I’m going to Chicago next week.

    Wendy & Keith: Thank you!

    Kassie: Already emailed you.🙂 But I didn’t want you to feel left out.

  7. July 23, 2007 1:42 PM

    Allison the first time I drive through the Big Apple, was 3 weeks before I was diagnosed and had all the symptoms. I was prob. around 700 with my sugars, having to go to the bathroom every 5 minutes. You’ve inspired me to tell my wonderful NYC story. Check it out when you get the chance.

Comments are closed.