Skip to content

Always Look on the Bright Side of Life

July 9, 2007

For the past week, I have been entertaining (though not hosting as originally planned) my mother and 17-year-old brother, Eric. They flew in on Friday the 8th and after circling the Newark airport not once, not twice, but three times, I finally managed to find them and drive them to their hotel, just a mere quarter mile from my office.

We spent the weekend visiting furniture stores and I have managed to become yet another poster child for IKEA living. My dining table, desk, bookshelf and nightstand are all IKEA bred. My red couch, however, is the black sheep of the family, and will be arriving from Macy’s at the end of the month. I would have posted pictures of my new apartment, but considering half the furniture isn’t put together and the floor is littered with cardboard boxes, it doesn’t look like much of an apartment right now!

We did manage to get some sightseeing in, thankfully. Mom and Eric ventured into the Big Apple by themselves on Monday and did a city tour (the blue bus… not sure which company that is). On Tuesday, work let us out early, so I took the bus into Manhattan and arrived around 1pm. We had lunch on the Upper Eastside and then took the subway down to Battery Park. We were too late to do both the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, but we visit Lady Liberty, which is obviously the superior of the two. Mom even bought a Liberty crown and torch flashlight that she’ll use for her Halloween costume this fall (she’s a second grade teacher).

nyctrip-011.jpg

View of Manhattan from the Ferry

nyctrip-088.jpg

Eric and I in front of Lady Liberty

Fourth of July threatened disaster, but we still managed to have a good time at Roosevelt Island listening to oldies music and laughing at obnoxious seven-year-olds. There was a torrential downpour just minutes before the fireworks were to start and Eric and I huddled underneath our umbrellas. Luckily, the skies parted and we had the best seats to a wonderful fireworks display. I managed to get some shots on my digital camera, though it obviously was more amazing in person.

nyctrip-074.jpg

I had to work on Thursday and my blasted phone decided to not show that my mother had called repeatedly after work. However, I did manage to accomplish quite a bit on my list, including purchasing a microwave, dishes and food.

Friday was the best day. After leaving work, I took the bus to Manhattan to meet Mom and Eric at Harrington’s Bar & Grill, right by Penn Station. Because of traffic (ohhhhh the traffic) I asked the bus driver if he could drop me off on the side of the road. A man had just done it moments before, so I thought it would work.

The driver shook his head and had a pained look on his face.

“That other man did it,” I insisted.

“If I let you off, do you know where you are going?” the driver asked.

“Yes.”

He opened the door and I hopped out, speedwalking seven blocks from 34th and Tenth to 31st and Seventh.

After dinner, we headed up ten blocks to 44th and Eighth to see…..

nyctrip-075.jpg

Eric and I in front of the Schubert Theater

I adore the movie (so did all my friends from high school. I could quote it before I even saw it!) so having it set to music and with dancing made it even more enjoyable. The contemporary culture jabs and innuendos made it even more clever than it already is. If you haven’t seen it, please do! For those who have seen it, ask me about our particular ending (it changes slightly for each performance). It was classic!

Exhausted after yet another week of non-stop go-go-go, I ended up falling asleep in bed still wearing my jeans and with the light still on.

My mother and Eric took off yesterday afternoon and today is my first day where I will not see any family. The transition, for the most part, is complete and now it’s time to move into the “I’m a well-adjusted local” phase, not the “I just got here and my life is in total and utter chaos” phase.

And I think if I follow the words of King Arthur and his ka-niggits and always look on the bright side of life, I’ll do just fine.

5 Comments
  1. July 9, 2007 8:22 PM

    Nice pics from the fourth! Looks like a cool fireworks show. Can’t wait to see pics from your apartment when it’s done.

  2. July 10, 2007 1:38 AM

    You are living a wonderful life, due to your wonderful attitude! Great going!

  3. July 10, 2007 12:42 PM

    Sounds like you are really settling in. Nice having that family visit!

  4. July 10, 2007 9:14 PM

    Gorgeous shot from the ferry. That sky just screams summer.

    Man, I miss New York City.

  5. July 16, 2007 12:30 PM

    I just saw spamalot in London—so what was your ending?!

Comments are closed.