Skip to content

Jersey Girl

June 28, 2007

I’m here at work, munching on a salad and monopolizing my only source of Internet currently.

I have been here in New Jersey for exactly two weeks now, and while I’m not living under the George Washington Bridge or sleeping Central Park, I am still living out of a suitcase which I’m hoping to halt this weekend.

This afternoon I’m driving over to the apartment rental office to sign the lease and get the keys to my new apartment, which is located about twenty minutes by train from New York City.

That’s close enough for me.

Barry, the owner of the cafeteria in my building, told me that his daughter, who is a few years older than I am, lives in a 1-bedroom apartment in Manhattan. The rent is $3900. She splits it with another girl. They have just moved out and the rent jumped to a staggaring $5100.

My rent is $950.

I’m not complaining.

My mother and younger brother are arriving in Newark tomorrow night, so I once again get to navigate the airport at night. I hate Newark Airport. There aren’t many things that I actually hate about New Jersey, but the airport and the freeways are the two that top the list.

I also despise humidity, though I spend a fair share of the day either in my air conditioned office or my air conditioned car. So I’m okay with the humidity for now.

Another thing I distinctly dislike: driving in thunderstorms. We have had six thunderstorms in the last two weeks. SIX. I don’t think I have been in six thunderstorms in the last two years! I know, it’s an East Coast thing. Yet another thing I’m having to get used to.

I attended the Northern NJ/Rockland County JDRF chapter annual meeting last night. Chatted with a nice old lady who’s granddaughter was diagnosed last year. They live in Michigan, but apparently they have just signed up to be clients of Gary Scheiner. Small world! I also met Robin Harding, Executive Vice President and COO, and I think I may have embarassed myself when describing my terror over missing an exit and accidentally driving into New York. Upon reflection, I now realize that was probably a very silly thing to tell someone.

When I left the meeting, I spent the next hour driving back to my cousin’s house in a thunderstorm. Even with my windshield wipers going full speed ahead, there were times where I just drove straight and prayed I wouldn’t hit anything. Thank God for taillights otherwise I probably would have driven off the road. The thunderstorm just kept going. I drove 40 miles and the thunderstorm was just as strong when I started as when I arrived. It was ridiculous. At one point I thought, “Okay, I get it. You’re a thunderstorm. You’re big and scary and loud. Now shut up and go away so I can drive!”

It didn’t listen to me and instead proceeded to drench me as I walked the thirty feet from my car to the front door of the house.

All in all, it’s been a pretty exciting, albeit exhausting, couple of weeks.

7 Comments
  1. June 28, 2007 7:01 PM

    🙂 Hopefully you’ll come to appreciate a good thunderstorm!

  2. June 28, 2007 8:00 PM

    Nice new look.
    I likey.

    I don’t know how long your contract is with GoDaddy, but next time ’round you might want to consider DreamHost. I’ve been very pleased with them as a hosting company.

  3. June 29, 2007 1:41 PM

    Allison

    Welcome to the east coast. Before I moved here from Ireland I’d never experienced a temperature above 85 (and only those types of temps once or twice). And as for humidity – what was that.

    Now I’m used to it (after 20 years), but still days like we’ve had recently are just tough. Once you’re settled in, I think you’ll be just fine.

    Sounds like you’re really really busy. I hope things get more relaxing in a while.

    I just signed up with Gary also. I’ll have my first consult with him shortly. In the meantime I’m finishing Think Like a Pancreas and still working on living with the big D.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Sara permalink
    June 29, 2007 5:39 PM

    Hi Allison! Looks like we moved to WordPress at about the same time. I think I like it – seems cleaner.
    I got my package at work last week – I was very excited!
    Don’t you just love the humidity. I moved from Cali where it was hotter, but drier. We have summer storms (rain, thunder, and lightening) just about every night for the next few months down here.
    Oh the joy!🙂

  5. July 1, 2007 5:33 PM

    WOA! Life can be so expensive in Manhattan! Glad you found yourself an affordable place that’s only 20 minutes away!

Trackbacks

  1. Confessions of a Lazy, Burned-Out, Twentysomething Diabetes Advocate « Lemonade Life
  2. Three Years. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.