Skip to content

No Worries. Be Happy.

June 15, 2010

I had a lot of fun writing up a Diabetic’s Version of “Hey, it’s OK!” as seen in Glamour, so I thought I’d do another round. Feel free to contribute in the comments!

Hey, it’s OK…

… to yell at your insulin pump when it beeps at you.

… to eat cupcakes. Everyday. (Well, OK, maybe not everyday).

… to test your blood sugar five times in a row when you have a good reading in order to get your meter’s average down. It won’t do anything for your actual A1C, but at least it will make you feel better temporarily!

… to wonder why everything in your purse is black (phone, keys, wallet, glucose meter case… no wonder they call it a black hole!)

… to drink juice when you’re not having a low blood sugar. Mimosas are my friend.

… to sometimes think, “You mean I have to do this for rest of my life? FOR SERIOUSLY?” and then want to smack your head against the wall. Don’t do that last part though – it hurts.

… to think your insulin pump is cooler than their insulin pump. (Edit: yes, this is a repeat from last time – but it’s a worthy repeat!)

… to totally not want to blog about diabetes. Or think about it or talk about it, for that matter.

… to be all “WTF!” about stupid things that people say.

… to think you’re the most awesomest person on the planet! (Because you are, and everyone should know it).

12 Comments
  1. Saucy permalink
    June 15, 2010 6:21 PM

    This is an awesome post. Well done! I’m printing this & hanging it on my fridge!

  2. June 15, 2010 7:13 PM

    How have I not thought to multi-test when I’m at a good level?! HOW?! 19 years and I’ve never thought of that. Brilliant for a bit of a mental boost!

  3. June 15, 2010 8:08 PM

    Way to be the ball. And not hit your head against the wall – too much! Greatness. Preach on.

  4. June 15, 2010 9:17 PM

    Hehehe! Nice!

  5. June 15, 2010 9:49 PM

    I love this post….actually laughed out loud several times (as my hubby stared at me…and then I shared :) I am one of those rapid testers to bring my meter average down…and I’ve yelled at my pump and my CGM more times than I can count over the last 3 days! Thanks for making me laugh!

  6. June 15, 2010 9:51 PM

    Awesome! I love this post!

  7. June 16, 2010 5:46 AM

    …to eat sweet food at the gym – cos you’re low! Duh! Why are all those gym bunnies staring? Oh… Duh! :P

  8. June 16, 2010 8:55 AM

    Awww, love this post! :)

  9. Tina Horan permalink
    June 16, 2010 12:07 PM

    Love it, made me laugh out loud at work, I am printing it and giving it to my beautiful daughter who lives with type 1 everyday, every minute of her incredible life and doesn’t let it stop her one bit. Thanks for the great giggle!!

  10. June 16, 2010 4:02 PM

    Amen to #6! . . . and #7!

    But I have to ask, is it ok to . . .

    . . . test your blood sugar, like, 3 times in a row because all this talk on the DOC about meters being inaccurate has you paranoid?

    . . . not absolutely LOVE your CGM because, really, sometimes that’s just too much information!?!

    Just asking! Loved the post!

    ~Layne

Trackbacks

  1. Random Friday #1 « You Can Call Me Saucy

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers