Skip to content

Things That Make Me Happy: #49 & #50

March 25, 2010

I know I owe you the Part Two of my trip to Boston, but the last couple of evenings have been hectic! I hope to finish it tonight!

#49: Amazing architecture

We recently moved offices at my company. Originally we were up in midtown, across the street from Rockefeller Center. My last job was also in midtown. I hate midtown. But now we’re in Union Square and it’s a beautiful neighborhood, not just because of the great shops (there’s a J.Crew, Banana Republic, Anthropologie and Gap all within a block). There is also some amazing architecture around here, and it’s so much nicer than the boring, stale skyscrapers of midtown. Blech. I feel more connected to culture and history when I’m around great architecture. It’s so much more interesting visually. Same goes when I travel. Great architecture can come in all varieties – whether it’s a government building, church, museum, or even a house! I probably would have been an architect if I had even a modicum amount of drawing talent! Some of my favorite cities with great architecture are San Francisco, Paris and pretty much everywhere in England! (This picture is of the Abbey in Bath, England)

#50:  A good workout

While I’m not a huge fan of working out (ever, really), I do like having worked out (as in past tense). A good workout really does make me feel better about myself knowing that I have done something healthy and I have noticed that now that I’m working out in the morning, I generally have more energy for the rest of the day and feel more awake at work (always a good thing!). On days where I don’t work out and sleep until I have to get up to get dressed, I’ve noticed I’m much more groggy when I get to work even if I’ve slept more. How strange! It definitely helps my motivation to know that even if my weight doesn’t immediately come down, I do have immediate effects in just how I operate throughout the day.

And with that, I have reached the halfway mark in my list! So I want to invite you to share some things that make you HAPPY! (And no, this is not just a ploy to get you to help me think of things since I’m running out of ideas.) You can check out the other 48 things that make me happy by clicking here!

5 Comments
  1. March 25, 2010 11:21 AM

    Wearing color! A big one for me. I used to wear a lot of black (I am a New Yorker, after all) and have found that having colorful pieces – a purse, a coat, a crazy pair of shoes – makes me feel like I know some sort of secret.

  2. March 25, 2010 11:25 AM

    What makes me happy is wakin up everyday breathing…smile. no really it’s a good start…the next
    thing I do, and have been doing for about since 85 is I mentally in prayer, put on my full armor of God…it’s protects what I think about things, reminds me I’m saved, protected, loved..and that all
    things, events and challenges are not just my own to carry. So with that…done, I can look at my horoscope even, with no guilt at all. smile. I can deal with my wife who…wakes up in a shit mod
    most of the time, I guess there will not be a fix for that..except to remove myself from it…doesn’t seem like something you’d want to spend the rest of your life being around…

    Things that make me happy…my animals. Dogs and Cats all love me…actually most of them are
    hers, it just happens to be me that feeds and cleans up after the crew…

    I was happy when I kicked my ole friend out of the house…Jim, 73 with a tear in his eye, had no where else to go, but my house, so being the fool I am, I spoke with Virginia and she agreed we could not just turn him away, so after the first day, basically he forgot every thing I asked him to do to help make things work around here…also forgot to clean up after his self, and he was not neat, at all. Forgot to feed himself…anyway…what makes me happy…

    I love the weather were I live…even today, when it’s rainy, yesterday was in the mid seventies, I plowed up two garden areas and planted some tomatoes…I will not say I love to garden, but I do like watching the sucker grow.

    I am happy to be alive and live with passion, but I have to love too…the same way….what makes me happy? I made a $38 Mil offer on a west coast commercial race track yesterday, don’t know didelly anything about racing, just investing…well see, if they are smart they will take it, but
    I don’t think they are, after all, their the ones that got themselves into the mess. And I expect
    to be paid very well, to help them get out of it…That would make me very happy.

    And I am happy reading your light-hearted, young, rose-colored post here. Have a blessed day.
    Al

  3. March 25, 2010 12:03 PM

    I LOVE beautiful architecture too. It was one of my favourite things about going to Germany – I took SO many pictures of beautiful, old buildings!!

  4. March 25, 2010 12:31 PM

    I *love* the Union Sqaure area. That was where I stayed the first time I went to NYC, and it was so much more charming and ‘real’ to experience than the midtown scene. You really get a sense of this very old city that has hung on through generations–and how small it once was, in some cases not all that long ago.

    Things I love…making things with my hands. I never get a sense of accomplishment greater than when I have crocheted a piece, baked a loaf of bread, or drawn something. There’s so little satisfaction in everyday work life; I never feel like you finished something, really, and after a while all the letters and emails start to look the same. So I knit (badly), or I plant a flower, or paint a chair. I love seeing something I did physically come to life.

  5. March 26, 2010 8:32 AM

    I love beautiful architecture, too. It’s probably one of the biggest things I miss about living in England – the amazing places like that!

    I also love spending the odd evening every once in a while alone in the house, exploring countless sites about new music, seeking it out and reading all the lyrics to someone who wins me over with one record in a vain effort to know them immediately by heart. What I love even more than finding awesome new music is finding someone who didn’t come across my radar and already has a back catalogue of albums I can dive into and explore :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers