Skip to content

Fun Festivities and Fall Foliage on a Farm.

October 12, 2009

While I love living in New York City and have easy access to Central Park, there really is no comparison to the true New England outdoors, which is why I was so excited to visit my friend Wendy’s farm yesterday. It’s a tradition of mine (actually, I’m pretty sure it’s the ONLY tradition of mine at this point) to visit her farm in October for the annual Harvest Festival. Wendy’s farm is only about an hour from the city, but it feels a million miles away as it’s in a quaint, rural part of western New Jersey. It was a gorgeous day, too. Not too cold, but not too warm either, and the sky was perfect: bright blue with just a touch of puffy white clouds. And the foliage was perfect.

DSC_2415_1743Lots of families gathering on the farm for a good time

Erik and I drove down for a get-together with some other families with diabetes. Wendy, as some of you may know, used to blog, but stays active on the CWD and insulin-pumpers forums. She’s also been to a handful of my diabetes meet-ups. We were a little early on arrival, so we grabbed a bite to eat from the barbeque tents they had set up, with the Long Valley Fire Department grilling burgers and hot dogs and serving up yummy french fries (who better than firefighters to handle flammable objects, right?).

Afterwards, we went on a hay ride to the pumpkin patch to pick out this year’s pumpkin.

DSC_2484_1685With our pumpkin

Since I live in an apartment complex without any porch or balcony, there really isn’t anywhere to put a pumpkin. Our dining table is too small, and the hallway is too narrow. So Erik will be taking the pumpkin to his apartment, which has a bit more space. I, on other hand, purchased three small pumpkins (the kid-sized version) for myself and my two roommates. Gives the apartment a fun, festive feeling. I also bought some yummy apple butter and an apple crisp. Yumtastic.

2 Comments
  1. October 12, 2009 4:22 PM

    I miss living on the east coast, fall is so much more beautiful there than in the midwest.

    Sounds like you guys had fun at the pumpkin patch!

  2. October 14, 2009 3:52 AM

    It almost looks like Tennessee from the pictures. I love the fall colors. Thanks for the post and the pics. Made me homesick, but better at the same time. Kinda strange to feel both at the same time.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers