Skip to content

Thing That Makes Me Happy #6: Moby.

September 22, 2009

No, not Moby Dick. This Moby. I’ve been a fan of Moby since I was in high school. I’m not sure how I found out about him. I’m sure it was a combination of seeing the music video for Porcelain on MTV and being a fan of Natalie Portman (the two of them are – or were – buds). I started reading Moby’s journal everyday when I was in high school. Most of my news and opinion about 9/11 and the war in Iraq started from his journal, because he lived in downtown Manhattan when the towers were hit.

His music has always been very peaceful and wonderful, to me. But he also has some funky dance beats and his history was in electronic and club music, so there’s a lot of that infused into his music. Portland is not exactly Hicksville, but for some reason it was a town that Moby seemed to play infrequently. The last time he was there was when I was in college, and tickets to the show went for $80. It was also on a school night, an hour and a half away from where I actually went to school. So I couldn’t go.

A few weeks ago, I checked Moby’s website (which I only do infrequently now) to see what upcoming shows he had. Since he is based in NYC I always hope that he’ll play here and I can see him. And lo and behold, he was! He recently launched a new album, Wait for Me, and is on tour now promoting it. I decided I HAD to see the concert, especially when tickets were only $45 (which, ironically enough, is the corresponding number on my 101 List!)

The concert was last night at The Fillmore at Irving Plaza. The place was packed but the show was amazing. Moby knows how to work his lighting and his rendition of “Rock the Body” was kick-ass. While we weren’t able to stay for the entire show (even by leaving early, we still got home at 11:15 and thus I am draaaaging), but I heard songs from the new album, the title track from “We Are All Made of Stars,” a remixed “Porcelain” and a solo “South Side” (which just isn’t as good without Gwen).

It was a concert I had been waiting to attend for 10 years. It was definitely worth the wait.

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. » LYNTC: 9/22/09 » tombiro.com

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers