Skip to content

Travel Bug.

May 27, 2009

You see the blur of color whizzing past you? That’s me starting in about three weeks.

Last summer was one of the most hectic I have ever had. It was worse than the summer that I moved. In less than three months, I was in 11 states (including New York and New Jersey, where I live-slash-work). TEN. I started off with Memorial weekend in Delaware, followed by a trip to Oregon in June for my brother’s graduation and a speaking engagement at the University of Oregon and a great meet-up in Philly with some of our favorites. July brought insanity with: a meet-up in Boston, BlogHer in San Francisco, Friends for Life in Florida, and I rang in August with crazy three-day weekend where I hit up Philly, Annapolis and D.C.

Did I mention my car broke down twice in July and I moved on August 1st?

Oh yeah, and my boss and a co-worker left the company and I turned 23.

Woohoo!

This year, I promised myself to take things easier. I decided against going to Chicago for BlogHer (I have gone the last two years) and I woefully declined signing myself up for Friends for Life. I thought, I should stay around the area this summer, enjoy time with Erik, see some of the local sites and sounds. Sounded pretty nice after last year’s chaos, where I fit in more adventure into four weeks than I have in four years.

I have finally confirmed all my travel plans for Summer ’09 and guess how many states I’m going to. I’ll give you a hint: it’s not eleven.

It’s nine! NINE!

What the hell am I thinking??

My only consolation is that instead of doing half the states in one month, I have them spread out over the course of the entire summer.

I’m starting off with a trip to Minnesota for a family wedding and meet-up. I have a second wedding the following week, but thankfully that’s just down the Jersey shore. So there’s that. July, of course, heats things up with a trip to Boston for the 2nd annual New England Diabetes Meet-up and the Roche Diabetes Summit in Indianapolis. Erik and I are also planning a Fourth of July weekend trip somewhere, most likely Rhode Island, though nothing has been confirmed. Then? I’m celebrating my 24th birthday in my homestate of Oregon, dragging bringing along Erik to meet the fam and friends, and see Oregon during the peak of tourist season. At the end of August, through hell or high water, I will be completing the Killington Ride to Cure Diabetes with JDRF.

Sometime during all of that, Erik and I will head back to Philadelphia as we’d like to check out the new Star Trek exhibit at the Franklin Institute (any takers?).

We may even add a tenth trip somewhere over Labor Day, though that’s not confirmed. Depending on my mental state, I may have to spend all three days hidden under the covers of my bed.

I know I like to travel, but I think even I’m getting a little ridiculous!

Where are you going this summer?

6 Comments
  1. May 27, 2009 4:25 PM

    Wow! That still sounds like a very BUSY summer! But at least it’s two less states than last year and it’s more spread out!

    • May 27, 2009 4:45 PM

      Yeah, I’ll actually have time to do laundry! And at least I’m not moving. That just killed me. I’m still amazed I was able to pull that off!

  2. May 27, 2009 5:30 PM

    Wow I’m tired just reading that!! Other than my vacation in Jamaica in August I’m not really travelling anywhere else. I can’t really afford to take anymore days off of work to do so. I wish I could travel more! I am hoping to go to my cousins wedding in October in Cali though. Which will be fun!

  3. May 28, 2009 12:44 AM

    It seems to me that people are more dynamic in their travels these days. Probably has to do with families living father apart and how easy it is to get across the nation. Though I have been in your shoes traveling all the time I have found that sometimes I like to stay home and take a break from all of the stress of travel. And once I have had a vacation from travel the itch comes back and I am off again. The world is in the palm of your hand, enjoy!
    Lord out.

  4. May 28, 2009 11:31 AM

    After my recent trip, I think I am done w/ the traveling for a while. I feel like I’ve been beaten with a stick today. :P
    Maybe in the fall I’ll feel like taking on the traveling again. Maybe. LOL

Trackbacks

  1. Tuesday Tidbits! « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers