Skip to content

Twitter Thursday: The Best Last Book.

April 16, 2009

I used to love reading, but college all but killed any desire to pick up a book that wasn’t attached to a letter grade that determined whether or not I would graduate with a degree in my chosen field.

Post-college, my reading streak has been meek (whoa! rhyming!). I don’t think I read more than ten books my first year out of college. Probably less. When I signed up for the 101 Things in 1,001 Days Challenge, I decided it was important to include a “reading” portion to that list. Of course, I didn’t really think of the consequences on time, energy, and feasibility in actually completing what I was determined to do: read 101 books in 1,001 days (see #33).

Yeah. Right.

Needless to say, I’m not making very good progress. I’m currently reading Middlesex, on the recommendation of my boyfriend. It’s a good book, a little quirky, a little meandering, but funny and interesting and out-of-the-ordinary. I can see why it won a Pulitzer. I’ve enjoyed all the books I’ve read so far, although having only read nine books in a little more than a year probably means my odds are pretty good. I only have five more books on my bookshelf that I haven’t read yet (including Anna Karenina which I’m pretty sure will stay unread for quite a while – if I hope to even somewhat accomplish my goal!). So in addition to movie recommendations, I love book recommendations. I also love, not just being recommended a book, but hearing what made a book tick with the reader.

Last week I asked my Twitter followers what their favorite book was. I was met with unnerving silence. I think maybe three people tweeted back. Apparently that was a tall order for people. So this week I switched it up a bit and I asked, what was the last book you read that you LOVED and why?

The results? Much better.

twitterthursday416

Did you miss out on Twitter QOTW? Never fear! You can chime in with your recommendation in the comments section.

And in completely unrelated news: Today is my parents’ 26th wedding anniversary! In a land of 50% divorce rates, this is pretty awesome. Congrats, Mom & Dad! If you missed it last year, check out the story of how they met.

8 Comments
  1. Jen permalink
    April 16, 2009 2:36 PM

    If you want an easy read, and you haven’t read them yet, you should try the Twilight series. Yes, I know they are loved by tween girls everywhere, and that is exactly why I did not want to like them. I liked the series in spite of myself.
    I’m currently reading the thirteenth tale. Many of my friends loved it, and I think it’s pretty good too.

    • April 16, 2009 2:38 PM

      Twilight is definitely on my to-read list since I know I’d be able to read them quickly. I also want to get some more chick lit books. My roommate has a few, but I think I’ll have to visit the library since I don’t want to shell out actual bucks for a so-so novel.

  2. Wendy permalink
    April 16, 2009 5:10 PM

    Allison,
    Some decent chick lit by Meg Cabot. Actually extremely fast read. I am currently almost done with the 2nd book in the Twilight Series.

  3. April 16, 2009 8:47 PM

    Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma was my last ‘good read’. Repelling, sickly fascinating, and riveting, and it made me nearly become a vegetarian ;-)

    I’m trying to get through <The Audacity of Hope but as charming as the author may be, it’s pretty dry.

  4. Melissa permalink
    April 27, 2009 12:46 PM

    Middlesex is a FANTASTIC book !
    One of my two favourites. Once you finish reading it, you feel like you’ve been on an epic almost century long trek.
    I really hope that it never gets made into a move, for me, that would ruin the whole mystery and charm of the novel.
    Calliope is one of the best characters in any book I’ve ever read, so completely believable as a real person and the narrative is incredible.
    Well that’s my rambling over now.

    I hope you’re enjoying it ! :]

  5. Melissa permalink
    April 27, 2009 12:47 PM

    (silly me, missed out a letter)
    I really hope that it never gets made into a *movie*

Trackbacks

  1. Thing that make me happy #2: Books « Lemonade Life
  2. Twitter Thursday – The Verdict? Guilty! « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers