Skip to content

Thing that make me happy #1: Girl Scout Cookies.

April 15, 2009

I was a Girl Scout. Did I ever tell you that?

I joined when I was seven years old, as a Brownie. I lasted all the way until sixth grade when my Girl Scout troop spontaneously combusted once. Only one girl managed to last all the way through high school. I think she’s a Girl Scout leader now.

Every spring, I would go door to door around my neighborhood asking if anyone “would like to buy some Girl Scout cookies?” It’s almost like a song you memorize by heart. I was a Girl Scout cookie selling machine. I loved it. I marched up and rang the doorbell of my neighbors and sometimes of complete strangers! I loved filling up my order form and explaining all the different kinds of cookies. I gazed longingly at the prizes available.

My favorite cookies were Thin Mints. I also loved Tagalongs and Samoas were really good too. I hated the lemon ones. The straight peanut butter ones were okay. They were a little too crunchy for me.

But as a kid with diabetes, those cookies were only for “special occasions.” I was stuck with Trefoils, the bland “sugar” cookies that had 15 grams of carbs for three cookies, and lower in pure sugar. The only “safe” cookie for a kid subjected to NPH and Regular insulin.

tagalongs_pkgA couple of weeks ago, during Lent and going through my “thou shall not eat chocolate” stint, I passed by a group of Girl Scouts at the shopping mall.

“Would you like to buy some Girl Scout cookies?” a short, blond haired nine-year-old sang.

“Absolutely!” I handed over $3.50 (stupid inflation!) for a box of Tagalong, since that was the only flavor they had left that I liked. Knowing full well this shiny red box was going to stare at me, mock me, for the next three weeks, I was determined not to gave into my inner longings for chocolately peanut-buttery goodness.

When Lent was finally over, I finally ripped open the box and slid out a couple of yummy cookies. Biting into it was more than bliss – it was total nostalgia for my entrepreneurial days as a cookie salesgirl.

4 Comments
  1. April 15, 2009 1:55 PM

    I wish I could find a girl scout somewhere to sell me some cookies!

    I found girl scout imitation cookies at the grocery store the other day, and had to settle for those.

  2. April 15, 2009 3:05 PM

    I went from second-grade Brownies through Junior year of High School, despite the Junior High principal’s forbidding us to wear our Cadette uniforms to class. Senior year, the troop almost combusted, the new advisor/troop never let me know when/where the meetings were. I did end up as a Brownie leader sophomore year university… It’s harder to be a leader or volunteer when you work a normal job (when I was a Scout, most of our leaders were SAHMs or school teachers).

    Mom was Troop or Community Cookie Mother for so many years it was ridiculous (living room packed floor-to-ceiling with cartons of cookies). There were so many cookies they went stale before they could all be sold or eaten…

    Last time I checked the ingredients there were lots of things I will no longer eat… but damn if I don’t miss those Tagalongs and Trefoil Shortbreads from time to time…

  3. April 16, 2009 12:03 PM

    Tagalongs are my FAVE. I actually made a copycat version this year that tasted EXACTLY like the real deal. Sooo yummy!!!

  4. January 9, 2010 9:33 PM

    I was a girl scout too! I’ve actually been thinking about trying to dig up some photos of my girl scout days and writing a post. Cookie time was the best! I still love trefoils.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers