Skip to content

Shiny and New.

March 2, 2009

The laptop that I’ve been using regularly for the past year or so actually belongs to my employer. But I found out early last week that because we have we have some new employees that need it for travel purposes, I need to give my laptop back and return to the standard desktop platform that I started with.

Bummer!

You see, I don’t have a computer at home any more. Well, I do, but it’s sitting in pieces in a box in my bedroom. The computer stopped working well, probably due to viruses and evil programs and whatnot. So I basically gave up on using it and stuck with my work’s HP laptop, which has worked very well for all this time.

Since I had to get a new computer, I put out a call on Twitter to see which one I should get. The majority of people who replied back told me I should get a Macbook, which I figured. My boyfriend has a Macbook, so I use it whenever I’m at his house. I like it. I used Macs in college, so I’m pretty used to how they work and all that. There are a still a few things that I find a bit difficult, but for the most part I catch on pretty well.

I decided to swallow the horrendous amount of new debt, and buy a Macbook at the Apple store with Erik on Saturday. It’s way more than I can possibly afford, but considering I do a considerable amount freelance work on this computer, I’ll actually be able to declare this as a business expense next year. The perks of being paid to write!

macbook

So now I have a new Macbook Pro – 15 inch of shiny silver goodness. I’m now an accidental Apple whore. I have a Macbook, iPhone and iPod, and yet I am not an Apple fangirl who covets Apple products like they’re diamonds. I haven’t had a chance to play around with all the new programs like GarageBand, iPhoto and my soon-to-be-favorite program, iMovie! Hello vlogging! I’m hoping to have my first vlog up online by the end of the week. I just have to wait for this silly little cold to go away so I don’t spend the whole time sniffling, sneezing or going, “Ah… ah… ahhhh… wait… almost…. ahhh-CHOOOO!”

Very unattractive if you ask me.

9 Comments
  1. March 2, 2009 5:20 PM

    Oh man, I’m jealous.. Congrats!

    Can’t wait to see the VLOG! :-)

    • March 2, 2009 7:09 PM

      Thanks!! I have no idea what I’ll vlog about… Maybe that’ll be my Twitter OTD poll on Wednesday!

  2. March 2, 2009 5:48 PM

    Snazzy! Looking forward to the vlog too :)

  3. Sara permalink
    March 2, 2009 6:42 PM

    You sound like me today!

    Achooo!!!!

  4. Sarah S. permalink
    March 2, 2009 7:53 PM

    Yay Apple! I have a regular Macbook but for the last four years or so I had a Powerbook 15″; before that it was an Imac (the kind with the carryhandle – ugh). Sounds like you’re switching back just in time – with the Intel chips and the great Unix-based OS, it will do ANYTHING you want.
    BTW, I have a wristpad protector that got sent to me on accident for a Macbook 15″ – would you be interested? Shoot me an email if you are, my address is sarahesoper at yahoo dot com. Here’s what it looks like: http://www.aevoe.com/shop/moshi.asp?showthis=56 and here’s a review: http://www.insidemacgames.com/reviews/view.php?ID=906

  5. March 3, 2009 9:02 AM

    So happy for you, and so jealous! The black buttons are so pretty!
    k2

Trackbacks

  1. The Best of 2009: Part Two. « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers