Skip to content

Ride of My Lemonade Life

February 2, 2009

Last winter, I wrote up a nice looong list of all the things I’d like to accomplish in 1,001 days. Some of it seems a little impossible to accomplish in a short span of time (hitting up London, Amsterdam, Israel and 5 new states?!?) but there are others that seem a little more reasonable (watching 101 movies or going to a new New York City restaurant every month). I’ve been making steady progress on my mission, though it certainly hasn’t been perfect.

My goal for the 101 Things challenge was to streeeetch myself and really push myself to try things I wouldn’t normally do or think about doing. Having it on a list and declaring it to the entire Internet via my blog is definitely a motivator. I also wanted to make sure that my 101 Things list didn’t just benefit me – I wanted it to benefit others as well.

Towards the end of my list I wrote down a few things that I thought I could do to help make the world a better place. One of those items is to participate in a Ride to Cure Diabetes, which is something I always thought would be fun and rewarding, but also scared the hell out of me because I am so out of shape and terribly self-conscious about my body.

But last Thursday, I did it. I registered for the Ride to Cure Diabetes taking place a mere 250 miles away from me in beautiful Killington, Vermont. I already put down a non-refundable deposit for $100.

killington011

As I said, I am terribly out of shape. I’m at the highest weight I’ve ever been, and my body is so out of shape I’ve managed to re-injure an old lower back issue. Pain. Ful. But I have seven months (!) to get my body ready for the Ride. My goal is to do a minimum of 32 miles, though I fully intend to ride as long as I can last. Maybe I’ll do the full 100 miles.

Writing Lemonade Life has been a great motivator to stay on top of my diabetes management and keep active in the community. With that in mind, I’ve started a new blog called Ride of My Lemonade Life, where I’ll chronicle everything I do to prepare myself for the most physically and financially. To do the Ride, I need to raise a total of $3,000. However, because I’m only fundraising for the Ride (and not the Walk to Cure Diabetes), I’ve decided to set my goal at $4,000.

I’m very excited about this, but I’m very nervous so I hope that you will share your thoughts and suggestions with me at my new blog as I prepare for the ride of my lemonade life.

8 Comments
  1. February 2, 2009 12:58 PM

    Awesome Allison! You can do it!

  2. February 2, 2009 2:12 PM

    I am doing Death Valley! Good Luck!!!!!

  3. Jen permalink
    February 2, 2009 2:48 PM

    Good luck! Killington–and Vermont in general–is beautiful. Best of luck to you, and remember to stretch those muscles first!

    Jen

  4. February 2, 2009 11:24 PM

    Why to go! I’m riding in Minneapolis in June, with a (slowly forming) team of friends.
    Don’t forget your water!

Trackbacks

  1. Just Keep Moving, Moving, Moving… « Lemonade Life
  2. Travel Bug. « Lemonade Life
  3. Plodding My Way Through the Goals. « Lemonade Life
  4. Kicking It Off! « Lemonade Life

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers