Skip to content

Talkin’ about the ‘Betes

January 22, 2009

I’m the guest blogger over at Diabetes Mine today, chatting about relationships and diabetes education and all the awkwardness that comes with it.

Basically, my question is once you announce you have diabetes to your significant other, how do you go about educating them? Do you wait until they ask questions? Do you hand them a book? Send them to your blog? (Not that I would ever do such a thing… Ahem).

This isn’t so much about when you disclose you have diabetes – this is the afterwards part. How do you talk about diabetes without freaking them out? Or do you just do what you think you need to do and hope for the best?

Please head over and read the post and then share your thoughts! I’d love to hear what the old pros think. And even if you’re not currently in a relationship or have ever been in a relationship, I’d still love your input!

Thanks!

One Comment
  1. Autumn permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:03 PM

    Allison-
    I’ve been married for a little over 2 years now and still laugh at my my first date with my hubby. We were in a long distance relationship so we didn’t actually meet face to face for about 5 months and I had already done some basic diabetes education with him. (Which included sending him to a few websites that broke down the different types etc.) Anyway, after I picked him up from the airport and started driving around looking for a place to eat, I realized that I was feeling LOW so I pulled over and told him that he would need to drive while I checked my sugars. 46!! 4 tabs later we found a Panda Express and we did a quick recap of the events with him asking lots of questions. Like what does a low feel like? How long does it usually last? Do I need to carry those tab things when we’re out? What things should I look for? He didn’t freak out, at all. That’s what made me realize he had potential. Email me if you want to and I’ll share some more.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers