Skip to content

23 Days Until 23

July 14, 2008

There are only 23 more days until my 23rd birthday on August 6.

The years of exciting milestone birthdays are over, sadly, so I’m not exactly on pins and needles about it. I’m looking forward to August because that means I’ll be living in Hoboken finally and I will just have returned from a weekend in Philadelphia and Washington D.C.

On August 2nd (the day after I move, keep in mind), my family is throwing my great-aunt a party for her 90th birthday. I’m really excited because my grandmother, my aunt and my dad are all flying in for the event. Afterwards, my dad and I are driving down to Baltimore, where he will be working on business and I will be taking the train down for the day for the Quilt for Life showing. I haven’t decided if this means I’m going to cancel the Washington D.C. dinner and just see who is around on Monday or if that means I will go down to D.C. on Sunday night and on Monday. People who are in the area, please feel free to leave me a comment letting me know if you have a preference or if you are planning on attending the Quilt for Life showing (I will be there at 10 a.m. and would LOVE to meet people, so feel free to come say hi!), otherwise I will just send out an email to those who I already have spoken with.

It will be a busy, busy time but I’m definitely looking forward to celebrating an early birthday with my family and friends and seeing the ENORMOUS Quilt for Life presentation at the National Mall. That will be a sight to see! Having a quilt representation of my life on display in our nation’s capitol is definitely an achievement, I think.

In more fun news, I discovered that as a blogaversary present (well, not really), Guy Kawasaki’s blog directory, AllTop, has listed myself and many of our fellow bloggers in the Diabetes category. I helped with some of the recommendations, but I had no idea I would land in the first line, alongside Kerri and Amy! I’m very excited to be listed, and everyone else should be too. Many of you may not know who Guy Kawasaki is, but he is a prominent figure in the social media world so I have known about AllTop for several months because of my job. I wrote to them originally recommending Amy for their Health category, then found out they were creating an entire Diabetes category!

Speaking of presents, if anyone out there loves me enough to consider buying me something for my birthday, feel free to check out the Amazon.com Wish List I created for my family. Or just visit Amazon.com, click on Wish List and search for my name. Not that I’m expecting anyone to buy me a Nikon D80 or a Macbook, but if you’re feeling generous, a subscription to Glamour would be pretty sweet… Something to decorate my new IKEA coffee table!

11 Comments
  1. July 15, 2008 9:39 AM

    Congrats on the listing! That’s very cool! And an early happy birthday!

  2. jill. permalink
    July 15, 2008 10:42 AM

    i will sadly not be in DC for the quilt for life display. i am really sad to be missing it! have fun, though!

  3. July 15, 2008 10:53 AM

    Congrats, Allison! And thanks for recommending me. If you like books for your Bday, I have a ton of diabetes-related titles I could pass on :)

    Best,
    AmyT

  4. July 15, 2008 11:08 AM

    Congrats on the listing, that’s really exciting! I will be at Quilt for Life and would probably be available for the birthday dinner as well. I can not wait to meet you!

  5. July 15, 2008 12:10 PM

    I’ll probably be at the Quilt for Life display, and could potentially make a dinner outing. Just let me know…

  6. July 15, 2008 3:20 PM

    Congrats on the listing! And an advanced happy birthday to you!

  7. July 16, 2008 12:51 PM

    Your Amazon Wish List is one item shorter :) Enjoy!

  8. Ronda Darling permalink
    July 17, 2008 8:56 PM

    What a small world! I have a cousin that lives in Hoboken, NJ with his wife. I’m also attending the Quilt for Life Display in Washington D.C. in August. My daughter’s quilt is number 633. Maybe we will see you there.

  9. August 1, 2008 11:02 PM

    OMG!!!! My blog is on that list!!!!!!!! I just checked it out to see who all was on there, and there I was! How did we get on there?

  10. August 1, 2008 11:05 PM

    Cara: I recommend a few blogs – not all of them, but a few – and Alltop has researchers that do some random analytics on blogs in the community. So I’m sure you were picked because you’re an active member.

Trackbacks

  1. Diabetes Mine - the all things diabetes blog » Blog Archive » Healthy Linkfest

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers