Skip to content

Word from the Wise.

June 12, 2008

Tip #982 for Living with Diabetes:

Just because something looks the same does not mean something is the same.

Example: I took out a can of Nestea Iced Tea from the office kitchen’s fridge this morning. I glanced down at the options and grabbed what looked like the same diet iced tea that I had yesterday.

I was wrong. I grabbed a can of regular iced tea. Even when my blood sugar rang in at 320 mg/dl, I didn’t realize the mistake because I figured the high was from my decision to eat Poptarts this morning instead of my usual Fiber One bar. It wasn’t until an hour later when I tested again and landed at 336 mg/dl that I figured something was astray. Upon closer examination of the can, I realized I was drinking out of a can with 33 grams of carbohydrate! I had been working all morning, and drinking from the can without reading the words. Both the diet can I had yesterday and this can are lemon flavored, so I think that masked my ability to taste the sugar. The cans look almost identical – one has a white background, and the other has a light silver background. We have apparently purchased new cans of iced tea with a different design and that is what threw me off. Sodas are usually more obvious. Diet Pepsi is light blue, regular Pepsi is darker. Diet Dr. Pepper is white with maroon, regular Dr. Pepper with just maroon.Check out these misleading labels at Nestea’s website.

Moral of the story: Look before you leap!

6 Comments
  1. June 12, 2008 2:13 PM

    WOW –
    You must felt like your were walking through JELLO – At least that’s what high b.s feels like to me.
    Nestle NEEDS to make the labels for the diet COMPLETELY different, because those labels are not just misleading, they are a health risk and a liability!

    Hope your blood sugar is getting back to normal and that you are feeling better!
    Thanks for sharing!
    k2

  2. June 12, 2008 2:29 PM

    Kelly: Usually I just get really, really thirsty and sometimes a little queasy when my blood sugars are high. A couple days ago I was high because of a wonky set and I felt like I was going to be sick. Funny thing though, when I was 520 mg/dl on Saturday because I had accidentally unplugged myself before a huge dinner, I hardly felt a thing. I was a little on the thirsty side but nothing crazy. Seems to change like the wind…

  3. June 12, 2008 3:28 PM

    Now that’s sneaky! Definitely one reason change is not always a good thing.
    Could you taste the difference? I know, some diet drinks taste so close to regular that I double check at the fast food places before I drive off (especially when they don’t press the little plastic “Diet” mark on the lid).

  4. June 12, 2008 4:21 PM

    Mandy: You know, I totally couldn’t tell! I think the lemon flavoring masked it… it tasted the same.

  5. chris permalink
    June 17, 2008 9:50 AM

    Im noticing this trend more and more…

    The new design of sprite is another one that tries to obscure the visual difference between diet and regular.

Trackbacks

  1. Diabetes Mine - the all things diabetes blog » Blog Archive » Every Day is Different. Not Exact Science.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers