Skip to content

No Delivery.

March 11, 2008

If you are currently on the fence about going on an insulin pump, you probably shouldn’t read this post.

It’s not pretty.

After dealing with a pump on the fritz on Sunday and 48 hours of fighting my blood sugars with an inadequate back-up regime of Lantus and Humalog, I finally thought I had salvation in the form on a brand-spanking-new insulin pump delivered to my office this morning.

At lunch, I scurried home to put in a new set and moved my reservoir from my poor broken pump to my snazzy, non-scratched pump. I started to do the priming using a fixed prime – going oh so slowly at 10 units a pop – until I realized I should just rewind the pump and start the priming process from scratch.

I realized this while I was driving and thought, “Well I’ll just do this at work. Priming while driving is probably dangerous.”

When I go to work, I sat down at my desk, hit the rewind button, hit the prime button, listen to the whirling of its rapid forward motion until I hit a BEEP BEEP BEEP.

NO DELIVERY.

Aw, c’mon!

You’re new! You are not allowed to be broken!

Now, in the new pump’s defense, NO DELIVERY alarms are not usually caused by the pump. It’s usually caused by a faulty reservoir or a kinked set. So until I got home, I wouldn’t be able to fix this.

Which left me with this conundrum:

It’s 2pm. My Lantus is almost up (I took Lantus yesterday at 3pm). I leave work at 6pm and I should be home at 6:30 pm. I’m already wearing a new set. I really, really don’t want to deal with Lantus for another day.

What to do? What to do?

Well, I decided to stick with frequent testing and injections of Humalog. My blood sugars have already soared to 354 mg/dl but I just dosed myself with an injection of 8 units, so hopefully that’ll hold me (maybe) until I get home. I don’t want to overdose either, so I’m taking it slow and hopefully by tonight everything will be worked out.

But at the rate I’m going, who knows?

3 Comments
  1. March 11, 2008 5:41 PM

    Gah… I really hope the new reservoir fixes it. It really would be bad luck to have two broken pumps in a row, although come to think of it, a broken Animas of mine was once replaced with another broken one! There is nothing more frustrating than a pump problem.

    I always keep a spare reservoir and infusion set at work (as well as at various people’s houses, in various bags…) Came in handy yesterday when the tubing pulled right out the top of my reservoir. No, yesterday afternoon was not fun.

    Oh, and congrats on the weight loss!

  2. Gayle permalink
    March 11, 2008 6:46 PM

    Ack! Murphy’s Law never fails, does it? Hope things work out for you tonight!

  3. March 11, 2008 10:33 PM

    Hope it gets straightened out quickly. I know it’s pretty scary being at work & no insulin. You’re right; it’s quite a conundrum. I started carrying a spare of everything in my rolling suitcase/briefcase to work everyday. The thing is pretty heavy, but it’s worth not having to worry about leaving something at home. It’s come in pretty handy. Good luck!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers